This website is now an archive of the restoration and should only be used as a resource. Please visit the Lion Salt Works website for the most up-to-date information.
Welcome to the Lion Salt Works blog
The Lion Salt Works is a historic brine salt making site that is being restored and transformed into a unique heritage attraction. Led by Cheshire West and Chester Council, this £8million project will see the site reborn as a fascinating destination for tourists, day visitors and families and a valued resource for local communities, businesses and heritage interest groups.
Located in the village of Marston, close to the town of Northwich, the site lies adjacent to the Trent and Mersey Canal and is close to the historic Anderton Boat Lift. A substantial part of the site is a Scheduled Monument.
Restoration work has now started on the site, with an expected opening in spring 2015. The Lion Salt Works is currently closed to the public.
Thursday, 30 May 2013
Thursday, 16 May 2013
- Open roofed coal wagons. See picture. These brought coal directly to the barricades of the pan houses where it was unloaded ready for use in the stoves.
- Covered salt wagons. The salt wagons were covered in order to protect the salt from rain. The pitched-roofed variety dates to the 1900s. Later salt wagons after the 1940s had roofs that were barrelled.
A further modern crushing machine was located in the Packing Area. This was powered by two electric motors with opposing ridged barrels. The salt fell onto a small conveyor belt and passed through the wall to Stove House 4 where it was sorted through the hopper in Crushing Machine 2.
- · Originally there was a brine shaft with a headstock.
- · This was replaced by a nodding donkey and pump.
- · The brine passed around the site in pipes.
- · Finally the brine is stored in the brine tank.
- · Pan House 1 was demolished in the 1980s before the works closed in 1986 and is now a garden.
- · Pan House 2 has largely fallen down but the pan and stove survive.
- · Pan House 3 and 4 survive intact and are due to be restored.
- · Pan House 5 was dismantled as part of the 2009 enabling works.
The Lion Salt Works had a stove connected to all the pan houses that survived into the 1980s (again numbered 1-5). Four of these survive whilst the fifth will be rebuilt.
- Stove House 1 (AKA The Link Block) – this originally connected to Pan House 1 and was one of the first built on site in the 1890s. It has almost entirely collapsed.
- Stove House 2 survives on site next to the canal. It again dates to the 1890s. It has a timber first floor unlike all the other stove houses.
- Stove House 3 runs next to Ollershaw Lane and dates to 1900. It is made of brick with distinctive rail tracks used to support the warehouse floor.
- Stove House 4 was built in 1956 to replace a series of four common pans [see link].
- Stove House 5 was built in 1965. It has been dismantled but will be rebuilt as a purpose built area of the new museum.
How to build a Stove House? [http://thelionsaltworks.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/how-tobuild-stove-house.html]
- · The canal side
- · The rail lines
- · The loading bay